Monday 07 October 2013

WorkSafe Awards finalists announced

Finalists for the 25th annual WorkSafe Victoria Awards have been announced, showcasing outstanding commitment, leadership and innovation in workplace health, safety and return to work.

A total of 30 finalists from a wide range of industries and workplaces have been chosen across 10 categories.

WorkSafe Chief Executive, Denise Cosgrove, said this year’s awards attracted a record 323 entries – up 13 per cent from last year’s total of 286.

“The awards are an important opportunity for businesses to showcase and receive recognition for the fantastic work they’re doing in keeping workers safe or getting them back to work as soon as it’s safe to do so,” she said.

“It’s great to see the strong commitment among Victorian employers and employees to make their workplaces safer and healthier.”

The winners will be announced at a presentation on 23 October, during WorkSafe’s annual safety event, Work Safe Week.

Ms Cosgrove said every award entrant was helping to spread an important message about health, safety and return to work to others.

“The people who nominate themselves or others for the awards are saying to the Victorian community that there is a better way of doing things, and by working together we can make a difference.”

For further information, please visit:

Finalists in the 2013 WorkSafe Awards are as follows (click on the links for more information):

Health and safety

Best solution to a specific workplace health and safety issue

This award recognises individuals and organisations that have developed and implemented a solution to a health and safety issue in their own workplace.

Fulton Hogan - Keysborough

Nacap – Hydraulic Pig Catcher – Doncaster

Tulla Sydney Alliance – Hanging Gantries - Melbourne

Tulla Sydney Alliance – Anti Gawk Screens -Melbourne

Health and safety committee of the year

This award recognises the roles and functions of health and safety committees and recognises performance and achievements that demonstrate high level consultation and commitment to health and safety across the entire workplace.

Parmalat Australia - Rowville

Zoos Victoria - Healesville

Health and safety representative of the year

This award recognises elected health and safety representatives who have made a significant contribution and demonstrable difference to health and safety within their dedicated workgroups.

Jason Peters - Parmalat Australia – Rowville

Jedda McGlinchey – Ambulance Victoria – Melbourne

Daniel Blackmont - Bluescope Distribution - Clayton

Lawrence Mwangi - DHS - Hurstbridge Farm

Excellence in health and safety management

This award recognises individuals who have made an exceptional difference to workplace health and safety.

Judy Harrington - Brunswick South-West Primary School

Tiny Good – Showtech Australia Pty Ltd – Braeside

Phyllip Bix - Grampians Region Prisons

Health and safety invention of the year

This award recognises individuals and organisations that develop and/or manufacture innovative solutions to health and safety issues or hazards.

CodeSafe Solutions Pty Ltd – CodeSafe Solution: Communication Solutions - Blackburn

Bremner Glass Equipment – Safe Lift System – Braeside

Fixers and Finishers Pty Ltd – KNSP Safety Fencing Post - Bentleigh

Return to work

Worker RTW Achievement

This award recognises a worker's outstanding achievements in returning to work following a workplace injury.

David Mitchell – Brown’s Springworks - Thomastown

Wendy Bailey – Sigma Pharmaceuticals - Rowville

Employer Excellence in RTW

This award recognises, at an organisational level, an employer's outstanding efforts to support the return to work of an injured worker(s) to safe and sustainable work.

Knox City Council - Wantirna South

Union Hydraulics – Sale

Catholic Homes - Hawthorn

RTW Coordinator Excellence

This award recognises an individual Return to Work Coordinator's outstanding achievements in returning an injured worker(s) to safe and sustainable work

Katelyn Vosti - Patties Foods Ltd - Bairnsdale

Renée Lee - City of Whittlesea - South Morang

Pauline Schlensog - Department of Justice – H.M. Prison Barwon - Lara

Treating Health Practitioner Achievement

This award recognises a treating health practitioner's outstanding achievements in returning an injured worker(s) to safe and sustainable work.

Peter Biskup – Corio Bay Health Group - Bannockburn

Jonathan Bell - Narre Warren Physiotherapy & Sports Injury Clinic - Narre Warren

Liz Plail - Precision Ascend (formerly South Eastern Pain Management) - Noble Park

Health and wellbeing

Commitment to workplace health and wellbeing

This award recognises leadership that demonstrates a whole-of-organisation commitment to promoting health and wellbeing at work.

City of Stonnington

City West Water - Sunshine

Dowell - Bayswater

Further Information

WorkSafe media enquiries: Rosanna Bonaccurso: 0478 305 640, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or Peter Flaherty: 0478 881 663, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Public enquiries: Call the WorkSafe Advisory Service on 1800 136 089 between 8:30am and 5pm Monday to Friday, email or write to Advisory Service, PO Box 4306, Melbourne, 3001.